A GENTLEMAN’S GUIDE2018-11-24T22:48:13+00:00

“WHY ARE ALL THE
D’YSQUITHS DYING?”

A Gentleman’s Guide to Love & Murder is the hilariously funny musical about Monty Navarro, a penniless clerk who discovers he is ninth in line to be Lord D’Ysquith, the Earl of Highhurst. But when the D’Ysquith family dismiss Monty’s claim, all eight family members in line to be Earl, surprisingly start dying from unnatural causes! This dastardly plot has been created to feature a single virtuoso performer as the D’Ysquith family; quadruple Helpmann Award winner Mitchell Butel stars in these eight roles.

Between murders, Monty is trying to woo Sibella Hallward until he finds himself drawn to the young Phoebe D’Ysquith. With looks like his, he could get away with murder!

Starring Chris Ryan (King Kong) as Monty, with Nancye Hayes (Brigadoon), Alinta Chidzey (Curtains) and Genevieve Kingsford (Brigadoon).

This brand new Broadway show was nominated for 10 Tony Awards and won 4, including the coveted Best Musical. The score includes songs A Warning to the Audience, I Don’t Understand the Poor, Poison in My Pocket, Better with a Man, Why Are All The D’Ysquiths Dying? and Looking Down The Barrel of a Gun!

Book and Lyrics by
ROBERT L. FREEDMAN
Music and Lyrics by
STEVEN LUTVAK

Based on a novel by  ROY HORNIMAN

Licensed exclusively by Music Theatre International (Australasia). All performance materials supplied by Hal Leonard Australia Pty Ltd

26 PERFORMANCES • 27 OCT to 18 NOV • PLAYHOUSE

Director
ROGER HODGMAN
Costumes
ISAAC LUMMIS
Musical Director
KELLIE DICKERSON
Set
CHRISTINA SMITH
Choreographer
DANA JOLLY
Lighting
MATT SCOTT

THE PRODUCTION COMPANY ORCHESTRA

CAST

MITCHELL BUTEL
MITCHELL BUTELIS ALL 8 MEMBERS OF THE D'YSQUITH FAMILY
CHRIS RYAN
CHRIS RYANIS MONTY NAVARRO
ALINTA CHIDZEY
ALINTA CHIDZEYIS SIBELLA HALLWARD
GENEVIEVE KINGSFORD
GENEVIEVE KINGSFORDIS PHOEBE D'YSQUITH
NANCYE HAYES
NANCYE HAYESIS MISS SHINGLE

ENSEMBLE

ANNIE AITKEN, JOHANNA ALLEN, MATT HEYWARD, PAUL HUGHES,
JENNIFER PEERS, MATTHEW PREDNY
STANDBY – DREW WESTON

PLAYHOUSE

New Dates Added

Saturday  27 October at 2pm (Preview Series)
Saturday 27 October at 7.30pm
Sunday 28 October at 3pm
Tuesday 30 October at 1pm
Wednesday 31 October at 1pm and 7.30pm
Thursday 1 November at 7.30pm
Friday 2 November at 7.30pm
Saturday 3 November at 2pm and 7.30pm
Sunday 4 November at 3pm
Wednesday 7 November at 1pm and 7.30pm
Thursday 8 November at 7.30pm
Friday 9 November at 7.30pm
Saturday 10 November at 2pm and 7.30pm
Sunday 11 November at 3pm
Tuesday 13 November at 1pm
Wednesday 14 November 1pm and 7:30pm
Thursday 15 November at 7:30pm
Friday 16 November at 7:30pm
Saturday 17 November at 2pm and 7:30pm
Sunday 18 November at 3pm

Join Our Mailing list

Join The Production Company’s mailing list and
receive full details of our 2019 Season.

JOIN NOW!